Skip to main content

Entrepreneurship professor named 2008 Outstanding Faculty at Marriott School

The Marriott School of Management at Brigham Young University honored W. Gibb Dyer with its 2008 Outstanding Faculty Award, the highest faculty distinction given by the school. The award was presented at a banquet March 28 where 11 other individuals and seven retiring professors were recognized for significant contributions to the school.

“Gibb Dyer has made great contributions to our business program. His involvement in preparing future business leaders cannot go unnoticed,” says Ned C. Hill, dean of the Marriott School. “We are very pleased to have him as part of our faculty, and this award is a representation of our gratitude for his work.”

Dyer, the O. Leslie Stone Professor of Entrepreneurship, has been part of the Marriott School faculty for more than 20 years. He serves as academic director of the school’s Economic Self-Reliance Center. As one of the world’s most-cited authors on the topic of family business, Dyer sits on the editorial boards of three journals and has been named a research fellow of the Family-Owned Business Institute and the Raymond Family Business Institute. Dyer’s father, William, is a former Marriott School dean and recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Award in 1974.

“Lately, the Marriott School has been recognized for its high rankings and achievements. However, we must never forget that much of our recognition is based on a solid foundation — laid by faculty and administrators who have come before us,” Gibb Dyer says. “I am very grateful for the opportunity to build upon that foundation as a faculty member of this institution.”

Along with Dyer, other exceptional staff, administrators and faculty members were also recognized during the banquet for their contributions in teaching, research and citizenship.

Marriott School Teaching Excellence Awards were presented to David Hart, associate professor of ethics and public management; and Craig Merrill, professor of finance.

Marriott School Citizenship Awards were presented to Ray Nelson, associate professor of business management; and Boyd Randall, professor of accounting.

Marriott School Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Richard Dalebout, associate professor of business law; and James Stice, professor of accounting.

The Marriott School Research Award was presented to Scott Sampson, professor of business management.

Marriott School Administrative Excellence Awards were presented to Troy Carpenter, researcher and compute support for the Business Management Department; Terri Hagler, administrative director of corporate development and career services; and Chadwick Little, public relations and marketing manager.

The Marriott School Staff Excellence Award was presented to Kristen McGregor, program coordinator for undergraduate programs.

In addition to the Marriott School Award recipients, seven retiring professors were commended for their longtime service to the school. The 2008 Marriott School retirees are: Brooklyn Derr, professor of organizational leadership and strategy; Michael Geurts, professor of business management; Kaye Terry Hanson, assistant professor of organizational leadership and strategy; Kate Kirkham, associate professor of organizational behavior; Roland Koller, associate professor of business management; Dean Longmore, professor of business management; and Gloria Wheeler, professor of public management.

Writer: Irasema Romero


overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=