Contact Us


Story Highlights

Tickets and Show Details

Performance Dates and Times: April 14, 7:30 p.m. 

Location: de Jong Concert Hall, Harris Fine Arts Center, BYU

Price: Public $10, Alumni/Senior $9, BYU ID/Student $6

Tickets: Available in person at the BYU Ticket Office in the Harris Fine Arts Center or Marriott Center, by phone at 801-422- 2981 or online at

The BYU Philharmonic will perform their end-of-year concert April 14 at 7:30 p.m. in the de Jong Concert Hall of the Harris Fine Arts Center, under the direction of Kory Katseanes, Director of Orchestras.

The performance begins with the “Violin Concert no. 1” by Dmitri Shostakovich, with guest artist Alex Woods. The concerto is one of the most revered of modern times, and “is a thrilling, mesmerizing, hair-raising concerto full of extreme beauty and sobering intensity,” Katseanes said. “Written at the height of Soviet oppression under Stalin, it is a poignant and thrilling witness to man’s endurance through adversity.”

Professor Woods has been hailed by the New York Times as a “show stopping” violinist and is in demand as a chamber musician, soloist and orchestra musician in New York City and abroad. Woods is an assistant professor of violin in the BYU School of Music.

The second half of the concert is given over to Sergei Rachmaninoff's famous “Symphony no. 2, in E Minor.”

“The Rachmaninoff is one of the most beautiful pieces I have ever played,” concertmaster Meg Terry said. “Every time we rehearse this piece I just want to weep because this piece exudes so much emotion. Every note and every rhythm is perfectly written to present heart-wrenching melodies at every turn.” 

Tickets are $10 for the general public, $9 for alumni or seniors and $6 with a BYU or student ID. Tickets are available to purchase at the ticket offices in the Harris Fine Arts Center or Marriott Center, by phone at 801-422-2981 or online at For those who are unable to attend, the event will be live streamed at

Writer: Bailey Fruit