Skip to main content

BYU Phi Kappa Phi chapters honors faculty, students

Members of the Brigham Young University community were recognized for their achievements during the annual spring banquet for The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.

BYU President Cecil O. Samuelson was honored with the Distinguished Honor Award for “his service as president of Brigham Young University and for outstanding contributions in medicine and to church and world.”

The Distinguished Member Award was given to former BYU professor and J. Reuben Clark Law School dean H. Reese Hansen for his contributions to law and BYU. Professor of nursing Lynn Clark Callister was awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award for her work in nursing as a professor, author and humanitarian.

Awards were also given to students. Rachael Dailey Goodwin and Benjamin Frandsen received the Student Vice President Outstanding Service Award, and the Carol Ellsworth Scholarship Award was given to Glenn Patrick Gavin, Jr.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 and is the oldest and largest collegiate honor society for all disciplines, with chapters at more than 300 campuses in the world.

For more information, contact Lawrence B. Rees at (801) 422-4307 or visit

Writer: Brandon Garrett

overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=