Skip to main content

Scott Ritter named chair of BYU Department of Geological Sciences

Scott Ritter has been selected to serve as the new chair of the Department of Geological Sciences in the Brigham Young University College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, according to Academic Vice President John S. Tanner.

Ritter replaces Jeffrey Keith, who was recently named as the new associate academic vice president for undergraduate studies at BYU. Ritter has selected John McBride to be associate chair of the department.

Ritter has been with the BYU Geology Department since 1991 following five years of teaching at Oklahoma State University. His research specialties include micropaleontology and carbonate sedimentology.

He received both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in geology from BYU, and he earned his doctorate from the University of Wisconsin in carbonate petrology and invertebrate paleontology.

For more information, contact Lynn Patten at (801) 422-4022.

Writer: Aaron Searle


overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=