Skip to main content

Juliana Boerio-Goates named Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer

BYU's top faculty honor awarded during Annual University Conference

Juliana Boerio-Goates, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, was named this year’s Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, Brigham Young University’s most prestigious faculty honor, at the annual University Conference on Tuesday, Aug. 23.

Boerio-Goates will deliver her lecture during a forum assembly Tuesday, Feb. 28, 2006, at 11:05 a.m. in the Marriott Center.

Recognized internationally for her work in the measurement of thermodynamic properties, she has also served as associate dean of General and Honors Education and director of the Center for Chemical Thermodynamics.

In addition, Lori L. Seely, assistant dean in the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences, received the Ben E. Lewis Management Award, while Earl E. Albee, animal care facilities manager at the university’s agricultural station, was given the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award, top honors for administrative and staff members.

Other faculty and staff members honored included:

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Awards: David J. Comer, electrical and computer engineering; Kristine Hansen, English; and Kelly D. Patterson, political science.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Awards: John E. Clark, anthropology; Larry L. Howell, mechanical engineering; and Michael A. Jensen, electrical and computer engineering.

Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award: Diane Chamberlain, exercise science.

Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorships: Daniel J. Fairbanks, plant and animal sciences, and Harold L. Miller, psychology.

Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award: Gary M. Burlingame, psychology.

Wesley P. Lloyd Award for Distinction in Graduate Education: Morris J. Robins, chemistry and biochemistry.

Alumni Professorship Award: Richard H. Jackson, geography.

Phi Kappa Phi Award: Michael F. Whiting, integrative biology.

Part-Time Faculty Excellence Award: Norah T. Hunter, plant and animal sciences.

David O. McKay Fellowships: Susan C. Hill, health sciences, and Richard R. Sudweeks, instructional psychology and technology.

Eliza R. Snow Fellowship: William A. Barrett, computer science.

John A. Widtsoe Fellowships: Stephen J. Bahr, sociology, and Barry M. Willardson, chemistry and biochemistry.

Alcuin Fellows: Ralph B. Brown, sociology; Paul F. Eastman, mechanical engineering; Valerie Hegstrom, Spanish and Portuguese; Richard N. Holzapfel, Church history and doctrine; Steven E. Jones, physics and astronomy; C. Riley Nelson, integrative biology; David E. Spencer, economics; Larry V. Shumway, humanities, classics and comparative literature; and Brian F. Woodfield, chemistry and biochemistry.

Young Scholar Awards: James C. Brau, business management; William F. Christensen, statistics; Wade A. Jacoby, political science; and Paul E. Kerry, history.

Creative Works Awards: Howard B. Christensen and Patti B. Collings, statistics.

Sponsored Research Recognition Award: Joel Janetski, anthropology.

Technology Transfer Award: Paul Savage, chemistry and biochemistry.

President’s Appreciation Awards: Administrative--Lynn Astle, technology transfer; Rulon J. Barlow, student health services; Brenda Butterfield, fine arts and communications; Scott R. Greenhalgh, counseling and career development; R. Dwight Laws, independent study; Mark A. Philbrick, university communications; Staff--Dianne T. King, continuing education; Nancy J. Bailey, technology transfer; Ruth Ann Hay, Lee Library; Phyllis A. Daniel, linguistics; Alan R. Ewell, physical plant; and Kathleen Pierce, audiology and speech pathology.

Writer: Cecelia Fielding


overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=