Skip to main content

BYU professor receives teaching award from national math association

Michael Dorff, an associate professor in the Brigham Young University Department of Mathematics, has been honored with the 2008 Mathematical Association of America Distinguished Teaching Award for the Intermountain Region.

This award honors professors of mathematics whose efforts have been recognized as influential beyond their own institutions. Dorff is the fourth BYU mathematics faculty member to receive this honor. Previous BYU recipients include James Cannon, Wayne Barrett and Tyler Jarvis.

Dorff is the director of the National Science Foundation-funded Center for Undergraduate Research in Mathematics at BYU and the co-director of the NSF-funded BYU Mathematics Research Experience for Undergraduates.

The Mathematical Association of America, with more than 27,000 members, is the primary professional organization for teachers of undergraduate mathematics. The MAA Intermountain Region includes all colleges and universities in Utah and southern Idaho.

For more information, contact the BYU Department of Mathematics at (801) 422-2061 or

Writer: Brady Toone

overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=