Skip to main content

BYU honors top faculty, staff during Annual University Conference

Brigham Young University President Cecil O. Samuelson honored the university’s most outstanding faculty and staff members during the Annual University Conference on Tuesday, Aug. 26.

David G. Long, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, BYU's most prestigious faculty honor. The award is made possible by the Karl G. Maeser Scholarship Society. Recipients must demonstrate clear superiority in both scholarship and teaching.

Long, who is director of both the Microwave Earth Remote Sensing Laboratory and the BYU Center for Remote Sensing, will deliver the 2008 Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecture at a forum assembly scheduled for Tuesday, March 24, 2009, at 11 a.m. in the Marriott Center.

James C. Kasen, associate director of Public Affairs and Guest Relations, was presented the Ben E. Lewis Management Award, while Craig Child of the BYU Carpenter Shop received the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award.

Other faculty and staff honored were:

• University Professorship Award: Abraham O. Smoot Professorship — Robert L. Millet, ancient scripture; Susa Young Gates Professorship — Michael J. Lambert, psychology.

• Alumni Professorship Award — Jeffry H. Larson, School of Family Life.

• Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award — Thomas H. Fletcher, chemical engineering; Susanne Olsen Roper, School of Family Life; and George S. Tate, humanities, classics and comparative literature.

• Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Award — John P. Hoffman, sociology; Kyle M. Rollins, civil and environmental engineering; and Michael F. Whiting, biology.

• Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award — Marie Tuttle, teacher education.

• Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorship — R. Steven Turley, physics and astronomy.

• Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award — H. Reese Hansen, law school.

• Wesley P. Lloyd Award for Distinction in Graduate Education — Larry L. Baxter, chemical engineering.

• Phi Kappa Phi Award — Bruce L. Brown, psychology.

• Part-Time Faculty Excellence Award — Norma Jean Welch, Center for Language Studies.

• University Fellowship — Alan J. Hawkins, School of Family Life; Sterling C. Hilton, educational leadership and foundations; David C. Dollahite, School of Family Life; P. Scott Richards, Timothy B. Smith and Tina Taylor Dyches, counseling psychology and special education; P. Jeff Maughan, plant and wildlife sciences; and Jini L. Roby, School of Social Work.

• Alcuin Fellowship — C. Penny Bird, English; Kendall Brown, history; Darrin Doud, mathematics; Dean Duncan, theatre and media arts; Dawson W. Hedges, psychology; Eric D. Huntsman, ancient scripture, Richard I. Kimball, history; Marc L. Olivier, French and Italian languages; and Cecilia M. Peek, humanities, classics and comparative literature.

• Young Scholar Award — Peter H. Everett, visual arts; Ross A. Flom, psychology; W. Spencer Guthrie, civil and environmental engineering; Kendra M. Hall, teacher education; Rosemary Thackeray, health science; and Adam T. Woolley, chemistry and biochemistry.

• BYU Class of 1949 Young Faculty Award — Steven C. Harper, religious education.

• Sponsored Research Recognition Award — Paul Savage, chemistry and biochemistry.

• Technology Transfer Award — Lynn V. Ogden, nutrition, dietetics and food science.

• Creative Works Award — David McPherson and Richard Harris, communication disorders.

• Teaching and Learning Fellowship — Kelly D. Patterson, family, home and social sciences; Perry W. Carter, engineering and technology; Guy L. Dorius, religious education; Timothy A. Threlfall, theatre and media arts; and Kristin B. Gerdy, law school.

• President's Appreciation Award — Wayne J. Anderson, chemistry and biochemistry; Steven J. Burton, School of Education; Gene Libutti, planning; Rebecca L. Crawford, Freshman Academy; Debra A. Ruse, Marriott School; Benedicta C. DeKeyser, Bookstore; Diane E. Hancock, counseling and special education; Sharron C. Collier, exercise science; Karin L. Klingler, General Counsel; Coral Taylor, Registrar’s Office; David M. Hawkes, Print Services; Annette C. Peterson, advisement support.

Writer: Cecelia Fielding


overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=