Skip to main content

BYU honors faculty, staff at Annual University Conference

A much-honored professor of English at Brigham Young University is this year's Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, the university's highest faculty honor.

Stephen L. Tanner, who was named the Ralph A. Britsch Humanities Professor of English at BYU in 1995, was granted the award by President Cecil O. Samuelson during this week's Annual University Conference for faculty and staff. Tanner will present his lecture during a forum assembly scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 26, at 11:05 a.m. in the Marriott Center. The public is welcome to attend.

Tanner also has been the recipient of the P. A. Christensen Lectureship, the Phi Kappa Phi Scholar Award, four Fulbright Senior Lectureships and, in 1999, the Lionel Trilling Award, one of his profession's highest honors.

"In publications as diverse as Shakespeare Quarterly, American Literature and Studies in American Humor, Dr. Tanner brings his faithful vision to subjects ranging from Henry David Thoreau to Zane Grey," according to his citation. "In the classroom he models scholarly excellence with skill, imagination and humor, and he has ably guided several generations of faith-centered students through the often bewildering and overwhelmingly secular texts of contemporary literary criticism and theory."

Receiving the university's top administrative and staff awards were Robert Remund, auxiliary maintenance, who was given the Ben E. Lewis Management award; and Robert Truman Marks, Joseph Smith Building Copy Center, who was granted the Fred A. Schwendimann Performance Award.

Other awards and their recipients include:

University Professorship Awards: Richard J. Butler, economics; and Thomas W. Sederberg, computer science.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Awards: Paul B. Savage, chemistry and biochemistry; Brandie R. Siegfried, English; and W. Vincent Wilding, chemical engineering.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Awards: Robert T. Barrett, visual arts; Keith A. Crandall, integrative biology; and A. Lee Swindlehurst, electrical and computer engineering.

Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award: Marti Lu Allen, anthropology.

Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorships: Michael J. Call, humanities, classics and comparative literature; E. Harrison Powley, music; and Robert E. Seegmiller, physiology and developmental biology.

Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award: Melvin J. Luthy, linguistics and English language.

Wesley P. Lloyd Award for Distinction in Graduate Education: Milton L. Lee, chemistry and biochemistry.

Alumni Professorship Award: Nora K. Nyland, nutrition, dietetics and food science.

Phi Kappa Phi Award: Phil S. Allen, plant and animal science.

Part-Time Faculty Excellence Awards: Ann N. Madsen, ancient scripture; and Richard H. Buonforte, anthropology.

University Fellowships: David O. McKay Fellowships, Martin Fujiki and Bonnie Brinton, audiology and speech-language pathology. J. Reuben Clark Jr. Fellowship, Sven E. Wilson, political science. Eliza R. Snow Fellowships, Gary L. Browning, Germanic and Slavic languages; and Brent D. Slife, psychology. John A. Widtsoe Fellowships, Gregory F. Burton, chemistry and biochemistry; Darren G. Hawkins, political science; John P. Hoffmann, sociology; Edwin D. Lephart, physiology and developmental biology; and Mark H. Showalter, economics.

Alcuin Fellows: William H. Baker, organizational leadership and strategy; James A. Davis, geography; James D. George, physical education; Michelle S. James, Germanic and Slavic languages; Richard E. Johnson, sociology; Barbara Lockhart, physical education; Dilworth B. Parkinson, Asian and Near Eastern languages; and David Rolph Seely, ancient scripture.

Young Scholar Awards: Randal W. Beard, electrical and computer engineering; Laura C. Bridgewater, microbiology and molecular biology; Ramona O. Hopkins, psychology; Tracy W. Nelson, mechanical engineering; C. Shane Reese, statistics; and Ramon B. Zabriskie, recreation management and youth leadership.

Creative Works Awards: Dennis A. Wright and Robert C. Freeman, Church history and doctrine.

Sponsored Research Recognition Award: David G. Long, electrical and computer engineering.

Technology Transfer Awards: Tracy W. Nelson and Carl D. Sorensen, mechanical engineering.

President's Appreciation Awards: David O. Anderson and Michael J. Kennard, civil and environmental engineering; James R. Burton, Counseling and Career Center; William H. Cope, Office of Information Technology; Kristine B. Mortenson, geology; K. Ann Tanner, electrical and computer engineering; Laura L. Atkinson, School of Music; Patricia A. Conroy, men's athletics; Deborah D. M. Hall, Heritage Halls; Sharon L. Heelis, visual arts; Dee M. Shirts, custodial services; and Lesa F. Withers, scholarships.

Writer: Cecelia Fielding


overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=