Skip to main content

BYU honors best, brightest faculty and staff at Annual University Conference

Brigham Young University President Cecil O. Samuelson honored some of the university’s top faculty and staff members during the opening session of the Annual University Conference Tuesday, Aug. 25.

Thomas W. Sederberg, a professor of computer science, is this year’s recipient of the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, BYU's most prestigious faculty honor. Recipients of the award, which is made possible by the Karl G. Maeser Scholarship Society, must demonstrate clear superiority in both scholarship and teaching.

An associate dean of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Sederberg has made significant contributions in the areas of geometric modeling and algebraic geometry, and his research has won many national and international awards.

He will deliver the 2008 Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecture at a university forum assembly Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2010, at 11:05 a.m. in the Marriott Center.

Max K. Behling, director of Digital Print Services, was presented the Ben E. Lewis Management Award for administrative employees, while Evie Forsyth of the BYU Anthropology Department support staff received the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award for staff employees.

Other faculty and staff honored were:

• Jesse Knight University Professorship — Jack W. Sites Jr., biology.

• Alumni Professorship Award — Brent D. Slife, psychology.

• Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award — Gary M. Booth, plant and wildlife sciences; Stanley A. Johnson, ancient scripture; and Jeffrey L. Shumway, School of Music.

• Karl G. Maeser Research and Creative Arts Award — Randal W. Beard, electrical and computer engineering; and Paul B. Farnsworth, chemistry and biochemistry.

• Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award — Catherine Burnham, School of Family Life; and Robert L. Maxwell, Harold B. Lee Library.

• Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorship — Richard Neitzel Holzapfel, Church history and doctrine.

• Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award — James D. Gordon, J. Reuben Clark Law School.

• Wesley P. Lloyd Award for Distinction in Graduate Education — Mary Williams, nursing.

• Phi Kappa Phi Award — Darren G. Hawkins, political science.

• Part-Time Faculty Excellence Award — Debra Chou Robins, Asian and Near Eastern languages.

• Alcuin Fellowship — Renata Forste, sociology; Luke B. Howard, School of Music; Daryl P. Lee, French and Italian; and Larry L. St. Clair, biology.

• Young Scholar Award — Jeffrey C. Humpherys, mathematics; Amy Petersen Jensen, theatre and media arts; and Brian D. Jensen, mechanical engineering.

• BYU Class of 1949 Young Faculty Award — Edward Carter, communications.

• Sponsored Research Recognition Award — Keith A. Crandall, biology.

• Technology Transfer Award — Barry M. Lunt, School of Technology; and Matthew Linford, chemistry and biochemistry.

• Creative Works Award — Norman R. Nemrow, School of Accountancy.

• Dean Fairbank Teaching and Learning Fellowship — William H. Baker, organizational leadership and strategy.

• Edwin Cozzens Teaching and Learning Fellowship — Paul T. Skaggs, School of Technology.

• President's Appreciation Award — Robbin T. Andrist, Solutions Engineering; Nancy I. Clawson, Physical Facilities; Randy F. Edwards, Print Services; Janet J. Fonoimoana, chemistry and biochemistry; Elizabeth C. Funk, theatre and media arts; Linda Godfrey, Church history and doctrine; Diane Jacobsen, Physical Facilities; E. Daniel Johnson, physical and mathematical sciences; Grant W. Laycock, Harold B. Lee Library; Mary Idon Openshaw, Marriott School; Joseph D. Stubbs, Physical Facilities; and George T. Taylor, Missionary Training Center.

Writer: Cecelia Fielding


overrideBackgroundColorOrImage= overrideTextColor= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection=false overrideCardHideByline=false overrideCardHideDescription=false overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=