Contact Us


Story Highlights

Tickets and Show Details

Performance Dates and Times: March 9, 7:30 p.m. 

Location: de Jong Concert Hall, Harris Fine Arts Center, BYU

Price: $6

Tickets: Available in person at the BYU Ticket Office in the Harris Fine Arts Center or Marriott Center, by phone at 801-422- 2981 or online at

The BYU Symphony Orchestra will perform Mar. 9 at 7:30 p.m. in the de Jong Concert Hall of the Harris Fine Arts Center. Tickets are $6 and are available to purchase at the ticket offices in the Harris Fine Arts Center or Marriott Center, by phone at 801-422-2981 or online at

This concert is the annual Evening of Concertos, which will feature the eight winners of the freshman and sophomore concerto competition held last fall.  

“These soloists represent our finest up and coming music majors in the BYU School of Music, and it is a pleasure to feature them on this concert,” director Christian Smith said.

The performance will include a variety of compositions including works by Mozart, Puccini and Tchaikovsky. Music student Nathan Adamson will be accompanying the orchestra on his saxophone as one of the winners of this year’s concerto competition. He will be playing Fantastia by Hector Villa-Lobos.

“It’s not often you see a saxophone concerto!” Adamson said. “In fact, saxophone in general isn’t considered a classical instrument, but if played correctly it can be so beautiful and expressive.”

Spencer Hodgson will also be playing alongside the Symphony Orchestra as a selected soloist. Hodgson will be playing the third movement of Piano Concerto No. 2 in D minor Op. 23 by Edward MacDowell.

“This is a very explosive and energetic piece for both the pianist and the orchestra and I’m extremely grateful for this opportunity to play with a great orchestra like the BYU Symphony Orchestra,” Hodgson said.

For those who are unable to attend, the performance will be live streamed at


Soloist will include:

Spencer Hodgson, piano

Ivy Gines, oboe

Elizaveta Shaikhulina, violin

Kaden Carr, natural horn

Nathan Adamson, tenor saxophone

Hannah Colvin, soprano

Adam Woodward, violin

Mariah Sam, piano

Writer: Bailey Fruit